West Coast Hammertime G.T. recap

After months of excitement and preparation,  this weekend was the

WEST COAST HAMMERTIME Grand Tournament! 

In November, I got my Chaos Dwarfs in the mail. A few stragglers came in; Drazoath the Ashen model, some war-machines.

A recent RTT showed that the chaos dwarfs could fight. (not to mention were lucky…very lucky) and I finalized my list for the West Coast Hammertime GT!  Here’s the list!

magma for days

magma for days

2500 Chaos Dwarfs WCHT 

Lord:

Sorcerer Prophet:

lvl 4, General, Great Taurus, dark forged weapon.

Chalice of Blood and Darkness, Talisman of Preservation, Charmed Shield

 What’s not to love about monsters? The model for this particular one is exceptionally well made. The large target gives the general a leadership 10 18″ bubble. While the Great Taurus doesn’t have an armor save, it is somewhat protected. Non magical attacks have to be re-rolled and flaming attacks cannot harm it and restore D3 wounds to it. Not shabby.

Heroes:

Infernal Castellan: BSB

Mask of the Furnace, great weapon

A resolute BSB, a 3+ armor save, high toughness and 4+ ward and 2+ v flaming attacks. 

Bull Centaur Tau’ruk

Great Weapon, Black Shard Armor

Dawnstone, Dragon Helm, Other Tricksters’ shard.

I call this guy “mini doombull”. He’s tough 5, a great armor save, 2+ v flaming and hits like a ton of bricks. Not only that but he’s able to force a challenge and make all Ward saves shaky. 

Core:

Infernal Guard: 29, full command, lich bone banner, Great Weapons.

Pretty much the heart of the army. This unit was able to wade into the thick of it and dish out a ton of pain and withstand a fair amount. 

Infernal Guard: 19 full command. Hand Weapon & Shield.

A solid block with a decent strength. These guys were able to hold objectives and pose a serious flanking threat. 

Special:

Magma Cannon

Magma Cannon

These guys are stellar. I tried the Death Shrieker and all it did was scatter into oblivion.  I’m sure if I baby-sat it with my Sorcerer Prophet or a demonsmith, they’d be ok. But that’s not my style. If i get 2 rounds of shooting with them, I’m happy. Due to the slow nature of the dwarfs, I’m often protecting them just by being there.

Rare:
K’daai Destroyer.

Big Red. 

That’s the list!

Marching to war!!!

Marching to war!!!

The Venue was the Laguna Hills Elks’ Lodge.
The venue was fantastic. A well priced bar, great diner and breakfast, not to mention the hospitality. The Elks were very curious about the game and the hobby. They put up with about 50 exuberant gamers and our yelling, and were amazing hosts.  This is one of the best venues I’ve been to for a tournament and everyone loved it. Food was RIGHT there, beer and booze was absurdly cheap and plenty.  A great find by the guys at West Coast Hammer Time

There was a massive Elk head in the hall and it was watching over the gaming. I thought it was an ill omen for any wood elf players…Orion’s hunt didn’t go so well.

There were 50 players for a first year tournament! that’s unheard of! The guys from leadership 2 came down and that really makes for a great tournament. My games with the L2 guys have always been some of the most fun, challenging and bloody matches any player could hope for. Not to mention the painting. When you go to a tourney, you want to play painted armies…these guys deliver.

 

 

Next up; Game 1! 

 

6 Comments

Filed under Battle Report, Conversions, Game Play (tournement), Modeling, Painting

6 responses to “West Coast Hammertime G.T. recap

  1. Wish I would’ve gotten the chance to play against you and the Chaos Dwarfs! Maybe some other time, grats on the tournament man, 4 wins is tough to come by, especially with some of the competition there. It was well worth the trip to me… money well spent and would do it all over again. Lookin’ forward to seeing your game results. Excellent army and great time all around!

  2. yeah! We do need a match!
    I’m glad you made it down to LA/OC. This was a blast. You really hit the nail on the head in your re-cap.
    I played my *ss off in those games, and even then, with near full battle points, you came in above me in the rankings. Shows what a good comp can do!

  3. fSVDEV

    sorry dude… no taur’ruk allowed unless you deploy a bull centaur unit!

  4. Hi there,

    Sigmar here from Battle Reporter. I wondered if you would be interested in posting your battle details in my new website for recording battles, rating reports, ranking report writers and aggregating army stats :- http://www.wfbattles.com

    If you’d like to add your battle details with links back to the reports here or on YouTube then please let me know (I’m subcribed to this thread) and I will add https://thenerdalsorises.wordpress.com/ to the approved links list.

    It’s all free btw, I developed it for fun and to learn how to improve my programming skills.

    All the best,
    Sigmar

Leave a Reply

