Tremble and cower, the Ghorgon approaches!

Yet another quick post from the labyrinth of boxes.

The GHORGON I ordered just arrived.

It’s an amazing resin model from the people at Miss Painting Group.

The unassembled body of the Ghorgon

I’m very excited to get settled and give this guy the attention he deserves.

The ghorgon is a lackluster monster in terms of Warhammer, but what in the beastmen book isn’t? Nonetheless, I’m going to field him in an upcoming “Dark Lands: Brass Road” campaign.

The parts

14 Comments

Filed under Fluff, Game Play (friendly), Modeling

14 responses to “Tremble and cower, the Ghorgon approaches!

  1. Ohhh, I like the look of that. I’ll be interested to see what you do with it.

    • thanks man, I’m digging it too.
      I’ve been doing a lot of reading up on ‘reflective light’ and plan on using the technique in the ‘wyrdstone’ influenced hide….maybe even from the mouth.
      I had luck with the Nurgle WoC warriors’ blades, so hoping that the technique I used on their blades works well on this guys cleavers.

  2. I’m always in too much of a hurry to get my figures onto the battlefield to do that kind of technique, but as a showpiece of your army, doing it that way would be rather cool.

    There is a serious shortage of Beastmen rare figures out there.

  3. That certainly is one bad boy. I’m looking forward to seeing the job you do painting it. Is that an extra mouth in its belly?

    • Aye, it’s an extra mouth on the belly and the leg, bringing it to 3.
      I can’t wait to use this, barring shooting, it should do some decent damage into unsuspecting flanks.
      Nom nom nom.

  4. Hey, like the model. It will do good for what it’s trying to portray in the book. Can’t wait to see what you do with it. Lookin’ forward to seein’ it!

  5. It was pretty sweet watching this guy in action at the Game Empire this Saturday. That was a fun game you guys played. Glad I was able to practically catch the whole battle!

    • Thanks for hanging out and watching!
      It was an epic game, monsters everywhere!

      You get maaaaajor points for playing ‘final countdown’ in the Doombull vs. Chaos Hero duel. That was hilarious.

      If you need help with putting together the High Elves (booo) or any other army, let me know. If you need an army to beat up on, I’d be more than happy to set up some low level matches! (beasts, Warriors of Chaos and Dark Elves)

  6. Just read your battle report for “The Razing of Vaul’s Hope”. I think I see where the hate for the High Elves come from now… Heh.

    • Glad you dugg it.

      My disdain for elves mostly comes from the ‘speed of asuryan’. Where Great weapons get to not only strike first, but they get re-rolls to hit….that and their elite troops outclass most others, for a very good price.
      Lacking shooting, there’s not much beastmen can do but bite the bullet and take them on in close combat.
      Speed of Asuryan is just amazing and very…well, imbalanced. On the field, it’s a nasty thing to come against. 2 ASF re-roll to hit str 5 attacks. That will neuter most armies.

      That and Tecilis.
      There’s not a general out there that doesn’t despise that char.

      Annnnnywho. I was thinking about picking up an ISLE OF BLOOD for the rule book soon. Let me know if you’re interested in the High elves. Hopefully, you’ve looked at other armies too. Dark elves are pretty keen too.

      • Just for the rulebook? That box contains your two hated races, right? But I can see myself running with the pointy eared bastards. Keep me posted, I’m assuming you might want to sell everything else or just the elves?

  7. Hey Dennis!
    Yep. I’d be selling the elves and skaven to re-coop the loss. I may keep the skaven to test paint them. But when it arrives, I’ll let you know.
    If you get your hands on another Isle of blood, you’ll have the book and pretty much a full High elf army

    (as the IoB has about a 1k point HE list and a 400 point skaven list)

    • I think I am just one rationalization session away from picking up Isle of Blood. I’m also looking at WoC and Dark Elvis. You know, to compensate for having such a goody goody army.

      • Well, my IoB is in the mail. I’ll let you know when it arrives.
        have you gone to Ulthan online yet? It’s a great resource for High elves.

        WoC are fun, and a DAMN cheap army to build. 2 battalions and a few conversions means you have almost a 2-2.5k force!

Leave a Reply

