Beastmen Battalion Box Berzerk-o Week.

A while ago, I mentioned something along the lines of modeling Frenzy. I even thought about starting and finishing an entire battalion box in one week. That’s over 40 models, banners, bases and units! Previously, I’ve been taking my time and getting through a few models at at time or in a group. I’ve even started some ambitious projects: Doombull, Beastlord, “Gorthor”-conversion and my favorite “Slugtongue” conversion.

Now, after mentioning the thought of the large project of completing a full battalion in one week, a friend challenged me and offered some encouragement. If I could complete this task, he would reward me with the ugliest of all fugliest models. The RAZORGOR.

The Razorgor is a fearsome new unit. This unit is hideous beyond compare. It’s a giant pig with spikes, ooze, decaying flesh, bulging eyes and other lovely features that you’re just as likely to see on a match.com date.

The upside of the Razorgor is that it’s a cheap, destructive monster that you can even harness to a chariot and have it hurtle recklessly at enemy lines and clobber even the most stalwart lines aside like 9-pins.

So, with a carrot now on the stick, I’ve set aside my current Warhammer projects to tackle…..


THE BATTALION BOX!

(bum bum bum!)

The Beastmen Battalion Box contains the following     

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • 10 ungors (raiders or core troops)
  • 20 gors.
  • 10 Bestigors (and lots of amazing bits!)
  • 3 banners
  • 3 musicians

Now, being a fair sport, I held true to my word. I said one week. From Monday to Following Monday (well, 11:59 Sunday) is my time-frame. I cut open the box at 12 midnight this morning (Monday 8/2) and set to work.

I’ll post the steps as I make progress, but otherwise, to the crafting table. (wow, that had to be the single most dorky thing I’ve ever said….OK, it’s in the running)

My game plan:

Bestigors: Assemble, prime, paint.

Gors: Assemble, Prime, Paint

Ungors: Assemble, Prime, Paint, watch them fall in battle.

Banners: paint 2 according to some color scheme. Paint the third as a “double rainbow” and have the dreaded double rainbow unit! (what does it mean!!!??)

Wish me luck.

Leave a comment

Filed under Conversions, Game Play (friendly), Modeling, Painting, Uncategorized, Why? Blathering

Leave a Reply

